Okay, I’m Back!

  The blanket is finally finally done! That only took, what? Six months? Yeah, no time at all. I have to blame a) the fact that I’m a slow knitter and b) I have what I like to call seasonal knitting disorder, as in, it gets hot outside and suddenly I’d rather paint or something. I’m trying very desperately to break that habit. So, here’s hoping. 
The good news is, the blanket is done, all I need to do is go invest in some blacking wires, block it, then I can finally give it to Mum, now that it’s too hot to actually need. Brilliant! It’ll at least look lovely on her sofa.

Next up, I’m going to finish the Tuva Hat I started before the blanket, and maybe attempt to learn Continental method, since everyone seems to swear by it being faster.

Did any of you have a preferred method?

I’ve always just used the English method, because that’s how my grandmother taught me, and I’m just used to it. 

5 thoughts on “Okay, I’m Back!

  1. Hello. I found your blog via Mollie & Claire. I was curious about the blogs she follows as I sit here waiting for ADT to come. This blanket looks wonderfully soft and cozy for windy, grey days. Terrific job. I learned how to knit Continental in a class I took seven years ago. I love it but have taught my daughters how to throw. I say whatever makes you happy; who cares which way.

    Like

  2. I totally understand being hit by “seasonal knitting disorder” which is why I normally end up spinning cotton again or just not knitting for a while. I knit the English way with the yarn being tensioned around my pinky finger. I want to learn how to knit continental mostly for colorwork. Keep in mind that when you try to switch, it will feel really slow and clumsy because you don’t have muscle memory for your left hand.

    Like

    • Good point! I think that’s why I never really learned Continental, because I tried once and just switched back, because I was too impatient to take the time to get used to it. I’ll have to try to give it a little more of a chance this time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

